The sun was shining brightly on Maryland’s environmental champions during an award reception held Monday, May 16, when Standard Solar was acknowledged by The Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) and the Maryland Petroleum Council as a recipient of the 34th annual Tawes Awards for a Clean Environment for its Rockville Ice Arena Project. The award was presented by U.S. Senator Ben Cardin, MDE Secretary Robert M. Summers and Maryland Petroleum Council Executive Director Drew Cobbs.

Standard Solar’s President Scott Wiater and Commercial Engineering Manager C.J. Colavito also received a Senatorial Citation from Senator Cardin during the reception.

“Standard Solar’s Rockville Ice Arena Project is a wonderful example of a ‘green’ project benefiting our environment and the local community,” said Summers. “This large rooftop solar installation reduces the need for fossil fueled electricity and improves air quality — which also means less pollution in the Chesapeake Bay and local waterways and reduced greenhouse gases that contribute to climate change. With its educational facility, the project also teaches Marylanders about clean energy solutions.”

The Tawes Awards and the James B. Coulter Award are co-sponsored by MDE and the Petroleum Council to recognize youth, adults, and private and public organizations involved in the restoration and protection of Maryland’s natural resources. The Tawes award, given to both adult and youth awardees, is named in honor of J. Millard Tawes, governor of Maryland from 1959 to 1967 and first secretary of Maryland’s Department of Natural Resources (DNR). The James B. Coulter Award, named after Maryland’s second DNR Secretary, acknowledges environmental contributions by a government employee.

“These award winners are dedicated environmental stewards who not only help preserve the air, water, and land that we share, but also inspire other Marylanders to take action,” said Governor Martin O’Malley.

“Individual actions to improve our environment and conserve energy are critical to reviving our economy, promoting national security, and the health of the Chesapeake Bay,” said U.S. Senator Ben Cardin. “I am pleased to recognize this year’s winners, who have made outstanding contributions to help protect our earth.”